Skip to content

An ode to spring

March 4, 2015

AN ODE TO SPRING

At dawn when I open my doors, windows

I am greeted by my regular companions

Flocks of tiny, playful and lively sparrows

with spirited mynas, bulbuls, and pigeons,

Who come gliding from their night shelters

in the Kachnar, Champa, Harsingar, Neem

And Gulmohar trees, shrubs and creepers

adjoining and touching balcony of my room

They come looking for their daily feeds

with friendly tapping on my window sills

For jowar, bajra, corn and other seeds

even rice, wheat puffs, nuts and biscuits

Squirrels watchfully spy the bird rations

and it is a sight to see how they pick the nut

Clasp and gnaw on it with swift actions

hiding in the small openings in the parapet

Bird experts say sparrows are getting extinct

and no longer dwell in concrete jungles

But I am blessed with the idyllic mornings

with my little friends providing jingles

The sweet sound of sparrows chirping

their calls of mobbing, duets and mating

Make my idyllic and cheerful morning

as my mind is enchanted in their playing

But it is now time to bid adieu to my lovable pals

For getting prepared for my share of earthly tasks

And face the day’s targets, meetings and mobile calls

With the polluted air, din of horns and traffic jams

***

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

